Kansas Honor Scholars

Kansas Honor Scholars

Kansas Honor Scholars

The Kansas Honor Scholars Program has been a KU tradition since 1971 and has honored more than 140,000 high school seniors—from all 105 Kansas counties and approximately 360 high schools—for ranking academically in the top 10 percent of their class. It is designed to promote academic excellence in secondary education, to reward high school seniors for their hard work and dedication, and to support our Kansas communities.

The program is made possible by KU Endowment, alumni donations and proceeds from the Alumni Association’s Jayhawk license plate program, and allows the University and the Alumni Association to create more scholarship opportunities for students.

Alumni and community members are welcome to contribute to the Kansas Honor Scholars Program.

Local recognition

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Kansas Honor Scholars will be recognized virtually for the 2020-21 school year. Packets were sent to each school that contained a letter of recognition, certificate and medallion for each recipient. The schools will distribute the awards to the students as they see fit. Since we can’t honor the students in person this year, we wanted to share our message of congratulations with this video:

Kansas Honor Scholar 2020 program cover

Commemorative Program

A 2021 commemorative program will be available in early May. The 2020 commemorative program was published online and may be printed for personal use. Click on the image of the cover to open a new browser window. You can download and print the 2020 program from this window.


Jayhawk alumni and friends are welcome to contribute to the Kansas Honor Scholars Program and/or a scholarship fund for Kansas Honor Scholars.




For questions about the Kansas Honor Scholars Program, contact Michelle Lang at 785.864.9769 or michellem@kualumni.org.