University of Kansas announces Ex.C.E.L. Award winners, concludes 107th Homecoming celebration

Posted on Oct 28, 2019 in Campus News and News

Far Above the Golden Valley | KU Homecoming 2019 | Oct. 19-26| Ex.C.E.L. Award 2019

Three University of Kansas students, Tiara Floyd of Junction City, Daphne Lin of Coffeyville and Jalynn Tann of Centennial, Colorado, are winners of the 29th annual Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership (Ex.C.E.L.) Awards. The award presentation during halftime of the KU-Texas Tech football game Oct. 26 in David Booth Kansas Memorial Stadium concluded KU’s 107th Homecoming celebration.

Floyd, a senior in African American studies with minors in Germanic language and literature and political science, is the 2019-’20 KU student body president. She served as chair of the diversity, equity and inclusion committee and director of policy and development for Student Senate, and she was a student representative in University Senate. She is a member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. and the Black Student Union, and she served as chair of diversity and inclusion at Douthart Scholarship Hall. She interned at the Kansas Legislature and worked as an administrative assistant at a law firm in Manhattan. She received the KU Black Alumni Network Impact Award in 2019.

Lin, a senior in humanities and pre-medicine, is president of Sigma Psi Zeta, a multicultural Greek organization for women. She also served as the sorority’s chair of community service, social media and academics. She is co-coordinator of the Center for Community Outreach’s Concerned, Active and Aware Students Program, and she has been a member of the Asian American Student Union since 2016, during which time she held several leadership roles. She participates in the University Honors Program, and she was a research assistant in the department of anthropology. She is a member of Phi Delta Epsilon medical fraternity and volunteers at KU Lutheran Campus Ministry. She received the 2017 SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital Value in Action Award for her volunteer services.

Tann, a senior in business administration with a minor in Spanish, has been a resident assistant for KU Student Housing since 2017. She is vice president of KU G.E.M.S. and also served as treasurer for the female student organization. She was the freshman action team president and served as treasurer of the KU Resident Hall Government Association. She participated in a study abroad language and cultural immersion program in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in summer 2018, and she has worked for the City of Aurora Parks, Recreation & Open Space in Colorado for several years. She has volunteered for the Big Event at KU and Harvesters’ BackSnack Program in Kansas City.

The Ex.C.E.L. Award provides an annual $250 scholarship to students. Nominees were selected on the basis of leadership, effective communication skills, involvement at KU and in the Lawrence community, academic scholarship and ability to work with a variety of students and organizations.

The theme for this year’s Homecoming was “Far Above the Golden Valley.” The event was sponsored by Best Western Plus West Lawrence; Crown Toyota, Volkswagen; and the KU Bookstore. Students and alumni participated in several activities throughout the week, including competitions, reunions and tailgates.

The annual Homecoming celebration was organized by the KU Alumni Association and a student-led steering committee, which was chaired by Brianna Gabriel, a senior from Westlake Village, California, majoring in strategic communications; Eli Linder-Taylor, a senior from Overland Park majoring in strategic communications; Brianna Mears, a senior from Georgetown, Texas, majoring in strategic communications; Nick Siegel, a junior from St. Louis majoring in accounting; and Chelsea Stitt, a senior from Ottawa majoring in economics. They worked with Alumni Association staff member Ally Stanton, director of student programs, and Keon Stowers, development officer for the Alumni Association at KU Endowment.

The Homecoming parade was Friday, Oct. 25, on Massachusetts Street in downtown Lawrence and featured Chancellor Douglas Girod as grand marshal.

Other 2019 Homecoming event and award winners are:

Jennifer Alderdice Homecoming Award

Julie Jorgensen, a junior from Cedar Falls, Iowa, majoring in strategic communications

Rich and Judy Billings Spirit of 1912 Award

Lawrence residents Warren Corman, a 1950 School of Engineering alumnus, and his wife, Mary Crissman Corman, a 1973 College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and 1974 School of Health Professions alumna

Overall Winners

Greek Life
1st place: Triangle, Sigma Kappa, Alpha Delta Pi
2nd place: Alpha Sigma Phi, Sigma Delta Tau
3rd place: Alpha Tau Omega, Theta Chi, Delta Gamma

Student Life – Large Organization
1st place: Scholarship Hall Council
2nd place: University Daily Kansan
3rd place: Grace Pearson Scholarship Hall

Competition Winners

Greek Life
1st place: Alpha Tau Omega, Delta Gamma, Theta Chi
2nd place: Triangle, Sigma Kappa, Alpha Delta Pi
3rd place: Alpha Sigma Phi, Sigma Delta Tau

Chalk & Rock
1st place: Alpha Sigma Phi, Sigma Delta Tau
2nd place: Scholarship Hall Council
3rd place: Abbi Dougherty

Jayhawk Jingles
1st place: Triangle, Sigma Kappa, Alpha Delta Pi
2nd place: Alpha Sigma Phi, Sigma Delta Tau
3rd place: Alpha Tau Omega, Theta Chi, Delta Gamma

1st place: Triangle, Sigma Kappa, Alpha Delta Pi
2nd place: Alpha Sigma Phi, Sigma Delta Tau
3rd place: Alpha Tau Omega, Theta Chi, Delta Gamma

Student Life – Large Organization
Scholarship Hall Council

Most Outstanding Homecoming Participant – Individual
Abbi Dougherty

For more information about this year’s event, visit

Homecoming 2019 sponsors