KU Debate wins 2018 National Championship

Posted on Mar 27, 2018 in Campus News and News

The University of Kansas’ most dominant team has brought home another trophy.

2018 National Debate champions Will Katz and Quaram RobinsonQuaram Robinson and Will Katz defeated Georgetown University late Monday night in Wichita to become KU’s 6th National Debate Tournament champions. The team joins previous champions from 2009, 1983, 1976, 1970, and 1954.

The KU debate program has performed at a high level throughout its history, qualifying for 67 National Debate Tournaments over the 72-year existence of the competition.

The team of Robinson and Katz dominated all season, winning the Rex Copeland Award as the top policy debate team in the country for the 2017-18 regular season. KU debate director Scott Harris said the pair had “the best regular season performance by a KU team in my 28 years directing the program.” Robinson in particular made school history as the first KU debater to advance to the championship final twice, and the first to make it to the elimination rounds four times.

Robinson is a senior from Austin, Texas, majoring in African and African-American studies and Katz is a senior from Topeka, Kansas, majoring in economics.

-Ryan Camenzind


Video courtesy of KU Marketing Communications

Tags: , , ,