Millie Award Recipient: Leland Hansen

Posted on Mar 16, 2015 in Alumni News and News

Leland Hansen, Proud Member
Leland Hansen, p’71, was honored with the Mildred Clodfelter Alumni Award on February 25 in recognition of his sustained volunteer service to the University at the local level for more than 30 years. The award was presented during the Kansas Honors Program in Atchison, where the KU Alumni Association was honoring the top ten percent of high school seniors in Brown, Doniphan and Atchison Counties.

The Kansas Honors Program and many other alumni programs would not be possible without the help of more than 1,600 loyal volunteers like Hansen.

“I am honored and deeply appreciate this award,” Hansen said while accepting the award in front of a large crowd at the Atchison Heritage Conference Center that included students from Horton High School, where he attended in 1966. Principal David Norman commended Hansen before he presented the Kansas Honor Scholars from Horton High and encouraged them to live up to Hansen’s example by giving back.

After graduating from Horton High, Hansen attended Highland Community College for 2 years, receiving an Associate of Arts Degree in 1968. He received his Bachelor of Science Degree in Pharmacy from the University of Kansas in 1971.

Following graduation, Hansen began working for Chuck and Harold Tice at Tice Rexall Drugs in Hiawatha, Kansas. In 1978, he became the first full-time pharmacist at Hiawatha Community Hospital, and in 1992 he purchased Tice Healthmart, where he remains as owner/pharmacist.

In 1972, he married Debbie Crawley of Overland Park, Kansas. They have two children: Rachel, who graduated from KU with a Bachelor Degree in Nursing, and Lance, who graduated from KU with a Bachelor Degree in Mechanical Engineering. They also have three grandchildren.

Hansen has been the Brown County Coordinator of the Kansas Honors Program for the last 30 years. He also supports the School of Pharmacy both financially, as a member of the Deans Club which raises money through its dues for student scholarships to the School of Pharmacy, and as a preceptor for first year pharmacy students.

In addition, Hansen is very active in his community and church, prompting the Kansas Pharmacists Association to select him as the recipient of the coveted Bowl of Hygeia Award in 2013 for his “outstanding civic leadership and service to his community.”

It was my pleasure to present Hansen his award and thank him for his service on behalf of KU and thousands of proud members of the KU Alumni Association.

–David Johnston

The Mildred Clodfelter Alumni Award was created in 1987 to thank alumni and friends for sustained volunteer service to the University at the local level. “Millie” award recipients are honored by the Association at special events in their communities hosted by local alumni chapters. Learn more or nominate an outstanding KU alumni local volunteer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,