Skip to content

Tradition of Excellence Award honors student leaders

Eleven University of Kansas students were honored for their leadership on the Lawrence campus at the Tradition of Excellence Award ceremony, co-hosted by KU Endowment, the KU Alumni Association and the Student Alumni Endowment Board. The annual awards were presented April 19 at KU Endowment and recognize students from diverse majors who have significantly enhanced the KU community through endeavors such as serving as teaching assistants, leading student organizations or volunteering in the Lawrence community.

Both undergraduate and graduate students are eligible for the award, which includes a $1,000 scholarship for each recipient and an additional $200 for awardees to donate to a KU area of their choice.

Friends, family and university representatives attended the private ceremony and reception. The 2024 Tradition of Excellence Award winners are:

  • Aisha Malik, Leawood, senior in speech-language-hearing
  • Ahmad Azhar, Mailsi, Pakistan, senior in mechanical engineering
  • Aarush Sehgal, Chandigarh, India, senior in molecular, cellular & developmental biology
  • Audrey McBride, Kansas City, Missouri, senior in business administration
  • Emmelea Schatz, Libertyville, Illinois, senior in architecture
  • Hannah Brown, Monroe, North Carolina, doctoral candidate in audiology
  • Adam Cory, St. Louis, master’s student in architecture
  • Jenna Shaw, Kenosha, Wisconsin, doctoral candidate in occupational therapy
  • Leslie Koffi, Denver, junior in architecture
  • Aprajita Tripathi, Kansas City, Kansas, doctoral candidate in cancer biology
  • Selia Walton, Blue Springs, Missouri, junior in project management and environmental studies
About the award

The award is organized by the Student Alumni Endowment Board (SAEB), a student organization that provides students with leadership experience in support of the KU Alumni Association and KU Endowment. SAEB members champion alumni networking, philanthropic engagement and numerous KU traditionsThe awards are funded through private support raised through KU Endowment’s Class Legacy Walk, an initiative that honors and celebrates the legacy of past generations of Jayhawks with a growing campus walkway near the Ambler Student Recreation Center.

More News

Copy the Leader: Jon Sabillón

Talking leadership with Jon Sabillón, International DJ, Entrepreneur, and Music Futurist
Read More

Jayhawk helps communities grow through The Giving Grove

Kansas City-based organization The Giving Grove supports community volunteers planting and caring for free neighborhood
Read More

KU Alumni receives Insight Into Diversity Magazine’s Inclusive Excellence Award

The award honors alumni association programs, culture and initiatives that encourage and support diversity, inclusion
Read More

Welcome to the University of Kansas Alumni Association

Your membership in the KU Alumni Association is the single most powerful way to make all of KU stronger, including the value of your own degree. Through your membership, the Association: